IACF 2020 Mystery Competition is now closed

The 2020 Competition is now closed and the winners will be announced in September. The 2021 Competition will be launched in late Spring 2021.

IACF 2020 Mystery Short Story Competition: The Prizes

We will give each of the two winners an Apple iPad Mini™. We will also give the winner and the runner-up in the older category a copy of the superb new book, Howdunnit! A Masterclass in the Craft of Crime Writing, which includes advice from Agatha Christie and many other writers.

We are grateful for the generous support of our sponsors: PKF Francis Clark, HarperCollins UK and Wollens Solicitors Torquay.

The prizes will be presented by Martin Edwards, the editor of Howdunnit! and a recipient of the Diamond Dagger, the highest honour in British crime writing. He is a former chairman of the Crime Writers’ Association and in 2015 he was elected the eighth president of the Detection Club. He writes the Lake District Mysteries and his latest novel is Mortmain Hall.

IACF 2020 Mystery Short Story Competition: The Judges

Our wonderful judges are the award-winning authors Patrice Lawrence and John Curran, and Dee Lalljee who runs Crediton Community Bookshop. To find out more about them, please click here

We are grateful for the very kind support of our partners: Devon Arts In Schools Initiative Arts (DAISI); Doorstep Arts; Libraries Unlimited; LiteratureWorks; Onyx Media & Communications Ltd; and Thom Hill.